Special Dietary Foods Catering

From delicious light and fluffy vegan scones and 'sausage' rolls, to gluten free chocolate brownie, Food Gurus Catering can create you delicious food that will satisfy the fussiest eaters and dietary requirements.

Always ask your guests for their dietary restrictions on invitations to any event where food will be served.

Someone with dietary restrictions will convey that they have a certain dietary requirement, and will expect you to provide food that meets his or her dietary needs.

There are plenty of delicious meals that Food Gurus Catering can prepare specially for diet as well as modifications to many popular dishes.

Food Gurus Catering are experts in preparing delicious meals to accommodate all types of dietary requirements.

Below is a list of the more common dietary allergies and restrictions.

What is a food allergy?

A food allergy is caused when the body's immune system mistakes an ingredient in food—usually a protein—as harmful and creates a defence system to fight it. An allergic reaction occurs when the antibodies are battling this food protein. Although a person could have an allergy to almost any food, the following foods account for almost 90% of all food-related allergic reactions:

Wheat- Gluten




Tree nuts (such as cashews and walnuts)





Religious Restrictions

Be mindful of guests at events during times when people of certain religions are restricted from eating some foods or foods that are forbidden by some religions.  



Forbidden: Alcohol


Forbidden: None. Many people will not eat meat or fish however. 


Forbidden: None. 


Forbidden: Meat, fish, poultry and eggs. Some people also avoid garlic, onions, alcohol, tea and coffee. 


Forbidden: Emulsifiers and stabilizers of animal origin, gelatin, non-kosher meat, birds of prey and non-kosher fish such as prawns, shellfish, turbot skate and sturgeon. 


Forbidden: Pork, lard or any pork substance, gelatin from animal source that is not halal, meat that is not slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way, meat coming from a lawful animal which died before slaughter, blood, any food or drink with alcohol, all carnivorous animals and birds of prey and some non-halal additives.